A day in the life of a silverback

image

I decided I’d post about a typical day of my diet. I mostly stay paleo/primal, but there are some food items that have historically worked for me in terms of putting on lean muscle and strength. I stay lean, and I fuel my body for the type of training I do. So without further ado, here is what I’ve eaten today.

6:00 slice of gluten free bread with all natural peanut butter and banana slices
6:30 bulletproof coffee. For the recipe, check out this website:
9:30 post workout chocolate milk
image
11:00 double cheeseburger (no bun)
2:00 ribs, scrambled eggs, cilantro lime cauliflower mash, avocado
image
6:30 grass fed rib-eye and Brussels sprouts
image
7:00 4 squares of Lindt 85% dark chocolate

By my estimates, I ate about 210g of protein and around 150g of carbs (most of my carbs were eaten in the 3-4 hour period before and after my training. I got this from Dr. Loren Cordain’s recommendations in the Paleo Diet for Athletes). I don’t even try to count my fat consumption because it’s a lot. Wild guess puts it around 200g. That’s 1800 kcals of just fat, which is amazing. This week, I have tried to eat more but keep my carbs low when I am not training, and I lost 3 lbs. If I find that my training is stalling, I will double or triple my carb intake. But for now, I feel great. Sorry, fat guys, it IS possible to be strong without looking like Jabba the Hutt.
*forgot to mention I had a few handfuls of walnuts throughout the day. I always keep a bottle of either macadamias or walnuts in the car since my job has me driving a lot.

Leave a Reply

